Ba Chua Xu Temple or Lady Chua Xu Temple is situated at the foot of Sam Mountain, Nui Sam Ward, Chau Doc City, An Giang Province in the Mekong Delta region of Vietnam. This is one of the most famous temples in Mekong River Delta, attracting millions visitor arrivals every year.
The temple was established in 1820 at the foot of Sam Mountain. There are two legends about its construction.
The first legend is that the temple of Lady Chua Xu was built because the people here believed Lady Chua Xu to be sacred.
The second legend relates that Madam Chau Thi Te, wife of Thoai Ngoc Hau, the builder of the Vinh Te Canal, swore to erect a temple when the canal, whose construction claimed many lives, was completed. She died before carrying out her oath. Thoai Ngoc Hau implemented her plans by building the temple of Lady Chua Xu.
At first the temple was made of bamboo. In 1962, it was roofed with double tiles. Then in 1972, it was rebuilt (except the 10m-long stone wall at the back, which was the old platform of the tower). The monument was completed in 1976.
Ba Chua Xu temple is constructed according to the Han character 国 (Quoc), with blue tiled three-floor roof. The decorations of the temple are imbued Indian art. The frames and doors are exquisitely sculpted. Horizontal lacquered boards are splendidly red lacquered and trimmed with gold. Worshipped inside the temple is the statue of Lady Chua Xu which was artistically carved of grey stone in the 6th century, based on the motif of the Deity Vishnu statue often seen in Laos, Cambodia, and India.
In addition, the temple also has the display house of the large number of cloth and precious objects donated to Lady Chua Xu.
[vc_custom_heading text=”Tour Packages” font_container=”tag:h2|text_align:left” use_theme_fonts=”yes” el_class=”section-title”]