Long Khanh pagoda is located at 141 Tran Cao Van Street, Quy Nhon City, Binh Dinh Province. The pagoda was built in the late 17th century under the reign of Emperor Le Hy Tong (1676 – 1705).
The pagoda was founded in 1715 by a Chinese merchant, and the monks who reside here preside over the religious affairs of the city’s active Buddhist community. It is now considered as the center of Buddhism of Binh Dinh province.
This pagoda was restored in the times of Patriarchs Tich Tho, Thien Khanh, Chanh Nguyen and Chanh Nhon. The bronze gong was cast in 1739 (Ky Mui year). Up to 1954, the pagoda was seriously damaged by the war. In 1957, Most Ven. Hue Long made an important restoration of the pagoda.
The statue of Amitabha Buddha in the front of yard of the pagoda (17m high) was erected in 1972 Today, the pagoda still preserves two valuable objects from the reign of Emperor Gia Long: Thai Binh Hong Chung (Hong Thai bell) cast in 1805, and a seal engraved with the words “Long Khanh Tu” in 1813.