The One Pillar pagoda was first built in 1049 under the Ly Dynasty, on the west side of the ancient Thang Long Capital. Its original name was Dien Huu, expressing the wish for longevity for the second King Ly. The pagoda is built in the shape of a lotus blooming on its stem.
The pagoda was built after the description of a dream of King Ly Thai Tong who reigned between 1028 and 1054, in which Bodhisattva Avalokitesvara, the Goddess of Mercy, led him to a lotus flower.
The actual One Pillar Pagoda is the miniature reconstruction of a large, ancient, royal Buddhist building. The pagoda is open daily from 8am to 5pm.
[vc_custom_heading text=”Tour Packages” font_container=”tag:h3|text_align:left” use_theme_fonts=”yes” el_class=”section-title”]