Quan Cong Temple also known as Ong Pagoda, is one of the typical temples in Hoi An’s old quarter. The temple is located at 24 Tran Phu Street, Hoi An City, Quang Nam Province.
Quan Cong temple was built in 1653. It was dedicated to Quan Thanh De Quan (Quan Van Truong), an outstanding general of the state Shu Han during China divided into three territories. He is renowned for loyalty, sacrifice to the state. He is worshiped in many countries in Asia including Vietnam, Taiwan, Malaysia and Singapore.
The Quan Cong Temple area has 4 buildings are arranged in the shape of “mouth” word in Chinese “口” (similar to the rectangle): an annex building in the front, two side corridors, courtyard in the middle, and the main building at the last position.
At the center of the main building is the Quan Cong statue, portrayed majesty but bright. The two sides are the statue of Chau Thuong – the loyal maid and brave, and Quan Binh – son of Quan Cong. Next to the two wooden horses carved vivid and lifelike.
Structural building surrounded by brick walls, and the wooden pillars are main bearing. Roofs are structured by horizontal and vertical slats arranged in a complex way, and be careful roofing by small tiles.
The temple was restored many times, in 1827, 1864, 1904 and 1966. Today, it still houses an archive of precious objects such as an honored letter to king, 30 horizontal lacquered boards engraved with Han characters, 10 pairs of parallel sentences and the statues of Quan Cong, Quan Binh, and Chau Thuong.
Opening: Open daily from 08:00-17:00
[vc_custom_heading text=”Tour Packages” font_container=”tag:h3|text_align:left” use_theme_fonts=”yes” el_class=”section-title”]