Dien Hai Citadel was formerly known as Dien Hai Fortress built in 1813 in the 12th year of Gia Long’s reign by Danang’s river. It was renamed in 1835, the 15th year of Minh Mang’s reign, after it was moved inland and rebuilt in brick on a high mound in 1832, the 4th year of Minh Mang’s reign.
In 1840 Deputy Minister of Labour Nguyen Cong Tru inspected the defenses of Danang and commanded a more powerful system for Dien Hai and An Hai citadel. In 1847 the 7th of Thieu Tri’s reign the perimeter of Dien Hai was expanded to 556 m with a wall five m high surrounded by a ditch 3 m deep. The citadel was designed with two gates, the main one opening to the south and the other to the east. Inside, there were Hanh Cung (the royal step-over place), Ky Dai (high pole platform), a storehouse for food and ammunition and 30 large canon emplacement.
The citadel was built in brick in the square Vauban style of architecture Dien Hai citadel, bearing the stamp of the tradition of the struggle of the people of Danang and the nation in the persistent war against the French colonialists to protect national independence and territory, made an important contribution to the defeat of French invaders in Danang in 1858-1860.
Dien Hai citadel was classified as a national historical relic by the Ministry of Culture and Communications on 16 November 1998 and a stele was permitted to be erected on 25 August 1998.
[vc_custom_heading text=”Tour Packages” font_container=”tag:h3|text_align:left” use_theme_fonts=”yes” el_class=”section-title”]