Tu Quang Pagoda Phu Yen is located on the slopes of Da Trang Mountain in An Dan Commune, Tuy An District, 20km north of Tuy Hoa City, Phu Yen Province. It is also called Da Trang pagoda.
The pagoda was built in 1797, under King Quang Toan of the Tay Son Dynasty. It is one of the most well-known pagodas in Phu Yen Province. Founded by Buddhist monk Huy Phap Chuyen of the Lam Te faction, the pagoda is currently run by the tenth generation of Lam Te Buddhist monks.
Facing the Cai River, Tu Quang Pagoda Phu Yen stands on an area approximately 100m high, which was once the capital of Phu Yen Province in the 17th century. There is a treacherous road paved with stepping-stones leading to the gate of the pagoda.
The pagoda was honored by the emperor in 1889, and burnt to a cinder in 1929. It was then rebuilt with funds raised by numerous Buddhists from provinces throughout central Viet Nam. In 1988, the sanctum of the Da Trang Pagoda was restored.
Behind the sanctum is a tower yard and a worshiping house for ancestors. The towers are carved with ornamental images, including the four sacred animals (dragon, unicorn, turtle, and phoenix). Surrounding the Tu Quang Pagoda Phu Yen is an ancient green garden of mango trees. The Da Trang mango is a special product of Phu Yen known for its sweet smell and delicious taste.
[vc_custom_heading text=”Phu Yen Tours” font_container=”tag:h3|text_align:left” use_theme_fonts=”yes” el_class=”section-title”]